Our people doing great things

Other Community topics: Events, Indigenous affairs, Organisations, People,

Deadlys finalists announced – Vote Now!

The quest to find Indigenous Australia’s best in 2010 has begun.

Finalists were announced today in what is arguably Australia’s biggest, single event celebrating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures, and voting is now open.

The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music, Sport, Entertainment and Community Awards, aka the Deadlys, is back for its 16th year at the Sydney Opera House on 27 September 2010.

Deadlys’ Executive Producer Gavin Jones from Vibe Australia says the Deadlys just keep getting better and a big part of this is Indigenous Australia’s strong support.

“Each year we get thousands of nominations from all around Australia and everyone has one aim: to honour the best and brightest whether that is in sport, music, the arts, health or the community,” he says.

“The 2010 finalists list is a huge excitement and it tells its own story. These people are really Deadly!

“The voting public has a hard task on its hands, but no matter what happens the Deadlys on the 27 September should definitely not be missed.”

While the Deadlys are a chance to celebrate our most talented, they also represent Indigenous Australia’s choice about who they feel deserves a Deadly award.

“We respect the trust Indigenous Australia places in us to ensure their top finalist in each category is announced on the big night, based on the votes we receive right up until the deadline on 6 September 2010,” Gavin says.

The Deadlys will be broadcast live by SBS from the Concert Hall at the Sydney Opera House and the show promises to rival last year’s high standard of entertainment.

“We are set for a big night of nights,” Gavin says, “packed with entertainment, dynamic performances and all the thrills that go with an edge-of-the-seat awards’ night.

“There’ll be a host of outstanding achievers from all walks of life and a room spilling over with emotional highs, laughter and maybe a few tears, in tribute to our Hall of Fame recipients.”

The Deadly Academy comprised of past Deadly winners will be back for the second year running to decide the Community and Deadlys Hall of Fame winners.

Nominations for the Deadlys Community Awards close today and the Deadly Academy will hand down its decisions in the coming weeks.

The Deadlys feature an expanded community awards category this year, recognising exceptional individuals who make a real difference in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across Australia.

New award categories in the community awards are Health Worker of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Cultural Advancement and Leader of the Year.

Voting is now open to all for the 2010 Deadlys at

The Voting Form is also inside the August edition of Deadly Vibe magazine, which features film-maker Ivan Sen on the cover.

Don’t miss your opportunity to be a part of the Deadlys this year! Tickets for the 2010 Deadlys ($45 or $30 concession) are available from the Sydney Opera House.

For more information, visit

Most Promising New Talent in Music

  • Busby Marou
  • Lady Lash
  • Jess Beck
  • The Medics

    Album of the Year

  • Archie Roach 1988 – Archie Roach
  • Children of the Sunrise – Adam James
  • Get Out While You Can – Dan Sultan
  • Waltjim Bat Matilda – Ali Mills

    Single Release of the Year

  • ‘Letter’ – Dan Sultan
  • ‘No Way’ – Viv Edwards
  • ‘Waltjim Bat Matilda’ – Ali Mills
  • ‘Freedom Now Begins’ – Adam James

    Band of the Year

  • Microwave Jenny
  • Dubmarine
  • The Medics
  • Yabu Band

    Male Artist of the Year

  • Adam James
  • Dan Sultan
  • Troy Cassar-Daley
  • Warren H. Williams

    Female Artist of the Year

  • Ali Mills
  • Casey Donovan
  • Christine Anu
  • Naomi Wenitong

    Outstanding Achievement in RNB and Hip Hop

  • Impossible Odds
  • Indigenous Intrudaz
  • Street Warriors
  • The Last Kinection


    Most Promising New Talent in Sport

  • Ben Barba – NRL
  • Noby Clay – Boxing
  • Jesse Williams – Gridiron
  • Stephen Hill – AFL

    Outstanding Achievement in AFL

  • Lance ‘Buddy’ Franklin
  • Cyril Rioli
  • Danyle Pearce
  • Nathan Lovett-Murray

    Outstanding Achievement in NRL

  • Greg Inglis
  • Jamal Idris
  • Johnathan Thurston
  • Sam Thaiday

    Female Sportsperson of the Year

  • Kyah Simon – Soccer
  • Rohanee Cox – Basketball
  • Susan Thomas – Archery
  • Josie Janz – Netball

    Male Sportsperson of the Year

  • Anthony Mundine – Boxing
  • Des Abbott – Hockey
  • Nathan Jawai – Basketball
  • Timana Tahu – NRL


    Female Actor of the Year

  • Casey Donovan – The Sapphires
  • Christine Anu – The Sapphires
  • Deborah Mailman – Bran Nue Dae
  • Jessica Mauboy – Bran Nue Dae

    Male Actor of the Year

  • Ernie Dingo – Bran Nue Dae
  • Leon Burchill – Stone Brothers
  • Luke Carroll – Stone Brothers
  • Rocky McKenzie – Bran Nue Dae

    Dancer of the Year

  • Michael Leslie
  • Daniel Riley McKinley
  • Yolande Brown
  • Damian Smith

    Visual Artist of the Year

  • Elaine Russell
  • Kamahi King
  • Tony Albert
  • Walangari Karntawarra

    Live Production of the Year

  • Sisters of Gelam
  • The Dreaming
  • The Sapphires
  • Wrong Skin

    Outstanding Achievement in Literature

  • Manhattan Dreaming – Anita Heiss
  • Dead Man’s Gold – Michael Torres
  • Boys’ Home to Broadway – Kevin Palmer
  • Legacy – Larissa Behrendt

    Film of the Year

  • Bran Nue Dae
  • Stone Brothers
  • First Contact
  • Boxing for Palm Island

    Television Show of the Year

  • The Barefoot Rugby League Show – NITV
  • Living Strong – NITV
  • Message Stick – ABC
  • Momentum – NITV

    Television Personality of the Year

  • Grant Hansen – Marngrook Footy Show
  • Karla Grant – Living Black
  • Mark Olive – The Outback Cafe
  • Wendell Sailor – The Footy Show

    (Decided by the Deadly Academy)

    Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education

    Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

    Health Worker of the Year

    Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Employment

    Community Broadcaster of the Year

    Outstanding Achievement in Cultural Advancement

    Leader of the Year


    The Ella Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sport

    The Jimmy Little Award for Lifetime Achievement to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music

    Tags: ,

  • Comments are closed.