Achieving on & off the sporting field

Talent listed for AFL IRS

AFL 2013 Media - IRS Indigenous All Stars Squad AnnouncementThe AFL today announced the names of the players eligible for selection in the Indigenous Australian Rules team to play in the 2013 International Rules Series in Ireland.

Supported by Coles and the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO), the Indigenous Australian Rules team will play Test matches in Cavan and Dublin in October.

Head Coach Michael O’Loughlin made the squad announcement of 33 players at a special event held at the National Centre for Indigenous Excellence in Sydney.

Representing the AFL Indigenous playing group, Hawthorn forward Lance Franklin and Sydney Swans forward Adam Goodes were in attendance.

AFL General Manager of Football Operations Mark Evans said this year’s International Rules Series is a significant and historic event in Australia’s Game.

“The series is a fantastic opportunity for the Indigenous All-Stars to come together as a team and to represent Australia for the first time in the International Rules series against Ireland.

“The Indigenous Australian Rules team will be made up of a very exciting and competitive list, which will showcase our Indigenous talent and I’m confident will do Australia proud.

“The final squad of 21 players which will travel to Ireland will be released following the Toyota AFL Grand Final Series.”

Michael O’Loughlin will be supported by a senior coaching panel to be made up of Rodney Eade, Tadhg Kennelly, Andrew McLeod and Alan Richardson.

In the most recent series in Ireland in 2010, Australia secured a 2-0 victory under former coach Mick Malthouse, before losing 2-0 in Australia in 2011.

Coles is the official partner of the AFL Indigenous program, including the International Rules Series, which aims to deliver football, health, education, leadership and employment opportunities for Indigenous people.

The National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) represents the 150 health services across Australia that are run by Aboriginal people, for Aboriginal people.

Partnering with the AFL for the 2013 International Rules Series, NACCHO aims to spread Aboriginal health messages into communities across the country.

Players eligible to be selected in the Indigenous Australian Rules team:

• Tony Armstrong – Sydney Swans
• Harley Bennell – Gold Coast Suns
• Eddie Betts – Carlton
• Shaun Burgoyne – Hawthorn
• Allen Christensen – Geelong Cats
• Aaron Davey – Melbourne
• Alwyn Davey – Essendon
• Courtenay Dempsey – Essendon
• Shane Edwards – Richmond
• Lance Franklin – Hawthorn
• Adam Goodes – Sydney Swans
• Curtly Hampton – Greater Western Sydney
• Bradley Hill – Hawthorn
• Joshua Hill – West Coast Eagles
• Stephen Hill – Fremantle
• Leroy Jetta – Essendon
• Lewis Jetta – Sydney Swans
• Michael Johnson – Fremantle
• Andrew Krakoue – Collingwood
• Nathan Lovett-Murray – Essendon
• Brandon Matera – Gold Coast Suns
• Ashley McGrath – Brisbane Lions
• Steven Motlop – Geelong Cats
• Danyle Pearce – Fremantle
• Patrick Ryder – Essendon
• Mathew Stokes – Geelong Cats
• Lindsay Thomas – North Melbourne
• Travis Varcoe – Geelong Cats
• Andrew Walker – Carlton
• Michael Walters – Fremantle
• Sharrod Wellingham – West Coast Eagles
• Daniel Wells – North Melbourne
• Chris Yarran – Carlton

Comments are closed.