Achieving on & off the sporting field

Sandow wins George Green Medal

South Sydney halfback Chris Sandow has been awarded the inaugural George Green Medal as the NRL’s Indigenous Rising Star. Adding to the achievement, Sandow was also selected in the Indigenous squad to play at the Rugby League World Cup.

The Indigenous team who play New Zealand Maori as part of the Rugby League World Cup’s Opening Ceremony at the Sydney Football Stadium on October 26.

Named in the honour of the first Indigenous person to play Rugby League, the George Green Medal recognizes the best emerging Indigenous talent in the game.

Since making his debut in round 13 this season, 19-year-old Sandow has been a revelation for the Rabbitohs, helping them to seven wins from their past 12 games after an horrific start to the season.

Other standout contenders for the award were Bulldogs points-scoring machine Ben Barba and St George Illawarra lock Matt Mundine.

Indigenous squad:

Fullbacks: David Peachey (Roving Ambassador), Preston Campbell (Titans) Rhys Wesser, Jarrod Sammut (Penrith), Nathan Merritt (Souths), Amos Roberts (Roosters), Josh Hoffman (Broncos), Ben Orcher (Sharks), Marty Paulsen (Knights), Jade Williams (Central Coast) Wingers: Ty Williams, Obadiah Geia, Sam Bowie (Cowboys), Brenton Bowen, Esi Tonga, Ben Jeffries (Titans), Justin Carney (Raiders), Michael Lett, Wendell Sailor (Dragons), Jharal Yow Yeh and Reece Robinson (Broncos), Michael Bani (Manly), Travis Robinson (Sharks), Dane Nielson (Storm), Rod Jensen (UK) Centres: Greg Inglis, Will Chambers (Storm), Justin Hodges (Broncos), Beau Champion, Jamie Simpson (Souths), Willie Tonga (Cowboys), Brad Tighe (Panthers), Donald Malone (Queensland Cup), Matt Sing, Sid Domic (UK) Halves: Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys), Scott Prince (Titans), Jamie Soward (Dragons), Maurice Blair (Panthers), Chris Sandow (Souths), Joe Williams, Ben Barba (Bulldogs), Luke Walsh (Knights), Ben Jeffries (UK) Back row: Sam Thaiday, Palmer Wapau, Derricke Watkins (Broncos), Dean Widders, Yileen Gordon (Souths), Cory Patterson (Knights), Clifford Morris, Matt Mundine, Jardine Bobongie (Dragons), Joel Thompson (Raiders), Justin Smith (Cowboys), Leigh Coghill (Queensland Cup) Front Row: Carl Webb (Cowboys), Daine Laurie (Wests Tigers), George Rose (Manly), Daniel Backo (Queensland Cup), Luke Grant (Souths), Fred Briggs (Bulldogs), Peter Jensen (CRL) Hookers: PJ Marsh (Broncos), Ian Lacey (Queensland Cup), Joel Romelo (Panthers), Travis Waddell (Raiders), Jake Friend (Roosters), Anthony Mitchell (Eels), Michael Young (Knights). Coach: Neil Henry.


Comments are closed.