Our people doing great things

Other Community topics: Events, Indigenous affairs, Organisations, People,

The 2008 Deadlys

Winners of the 14th annual Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander awards have been announced at a spectacular star-studded ceremony held at the Sydney Opera House on Thursday, October 9, 2008.

A who’s who of black Australia dazzled on the red carpet before joining hundreds of excited audience members in the Concert Hall for a celebration of Indigenous excellence in music, sport, entertainment and community achievement.

Hosted by AFI award-winning actor Luke Carroll, the Deadlys 2008 was an unforgettable night of entertainment featuring the angelic voice of internationally acclaimed singer/songwriter Gurrumul Yunupingu. Also wowing the crowds with their vocals were the captivating Jessica Mauboy and the glamorous Ursula Yovich, while the legendary Jimmy Little also showed Australia he’s still got it with an impressive performance of his original hit, Royal Telephone.

But Deadlys night is all about the winners, and this year saw some of the most accomplished award winners yet seen on a Deadlys stage.

And the winners are . . .

Most Promising New Talent in Music
Adam James

Single of the Year
History (I Was Born Blind) – Gurrumul Yunupingu

Album of the Year
Gurrumul – Gurrumul Yunupingu

Band of the Year
The Black Arm Band

Artist of the Year
Gurrumul Yunupingu

Lifetime Achievement to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music – Auriel Andrew

APRA Song of the Year
Jodie Cockatoo-Creed & Andrew Farris –
Never Let You Go

Most Promising New Talent in Sport
Chris Sandow

Outstanding Achievement in AFL
Lance Franklin

Outstanding Achievement in Rugby League
Greg Inglis

Female Sportsperson of the Year
Rohanee Cox

Male Sportsperson of the Year
Patrick Mills

Lifetime Achievement for Contribution to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Sport – Michael Long

Dancer of the Year
Sermsah Bin Saad (aka Suri)

Outstanding Achievement in Film, TV or Theatre
Trevor Jamieson & Scott Rankin, Ngapartji Ngapartji

Outstanding Achievement in Literature
Anita Heiss & Peter Minter – Macquarie PEN Anthology of Aboriginal Literature

Outstanding Achievement in Entertainment
Stephen Page – Bangarra Dance Theatre

Actor of the Year
Leah Purcell

Visual Artist of the Year
Michael Cook

Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Education
Paul Djolpa McKenzie – Maningrida CEC School

Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health
Dr Noel Hayman – Inala Indigenous Health Service

Broadcaster of the Year
“Uncle” Peter Hill – The Shout Out Show, 98.9FM Queensland

Young Leader of the Year
Matthew Cooke – Nhulundu Wooribah Indigenous

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.