Achieving on & off the sporting field

Campbell honoured to lead Dreamtime team

Gold Coast Titans star Preston Campbell has described his appointment as Captain of the Indigenous Dreamtime team set to play New Zealand Maori this weekend as the equal of any of his achievements in the game thus far, including his Dally M Player of the Year Medal and Premiership triumph with Penrith in 2003.

The Indigenous side will face off against the New Zealand Maori in a ‘Welcome to Country’ match as part of the Rugby League World Cup’s opening ceremony on October 26 at the Sydney Football Stadium.

The Dreamtime team, chosen by selectors Arthur Beetson, Larry Corrowa and Ricky Walford boasts an impressive list of current and former NRL players, mixed in with other talent drawn from the Country Rugby League and even Europe. The team is coached by Dally M Coach of the year Neil Henry.

Campbell will be reunited with former Panthers teammate Rhys Wesser and fellow representative players Carl Webb, Sam Thaiday, Ty Williams, Maurice Blair and Dean Widders.

Cowboys front rower Carl Webb has been appointed vice-captain.

The Dreamtime team enters camp today and will be involved in a number of community events highlighted by an open Fan Day at Redfern Community Centre on Thursday, October 23.

Full Squad

Rhys Wesser (Rabbitohs)
Ty Williams (Cowboys)
Beau Champion (Rabbitohs)
Jamal Idris (Bulldogs)
Justin Carney (Raiders)
Maurice Blair (Panthers)
Preston Campbell (Titans)
Carl Webb (Cowboys)
Ian Lacey (Ipswich)
George Rose (Sea Eagles)
Daine Laurie (Wests Tigers)
Sam Thaiday (Broncos)
Joel Thompson (Raiders)
Dean Widders (Rabbitohs)
Chris Sandow (Rabbitohs)
Yileen Gordon (Bulldogs)
Peter Jensen (CRL)
Denis Moran (Narwan Eels)

Comments are closed.