Our people doing great things

Other Community topics: Events, Indigenous affairs, Organisations, People,

The 2002 Deadlys

It was a night of glam frocks, black rock and turning back the clock at the 8th National Indigenous Music, Sport, Entertainment & Community Awards (“˜the Deadlys’), held this evening at the Sydney Opera House.

Celebrities were in abundance at Indigenous Australia’s night of nights, with Shakaya, Anthony Mundine, Evonne Goolagong-Cawley, Troy Cassar-Daley, David Peachey, Jade North, Rhoda Roberts, Kyle Vander-Kuyp, Leah Purcell, Archie Roach, Frances Rings, Ernie Dingo, Bo De La Cruz, Jimmy Little and Preston Campbell all stepping out to mingle with the 600-plus audience, and ” in some cases ” pick up Deadlys.

The awards ceremony and concert got underway with legendary rocker Vic Simms and the Solid Vibe Dancers (from NAISDA Dance College) letting loose with a show-stopping rendition of AC/DC’s “School Days”. And that was just the beginning!

Interspersed between the 20 awards bestowed on a variety of musicians, bands, sportspeople, actors, entertainers and community achievers, were performances by Toni Janke, Shakaya and George Rrurrambu (ex-Warumpi Band).

The most unlikely number of the evening came in the form of a “˜turn-back-the-clock’ tribute to the late Elvis Presley, featuring Leah Purcell, Emma Donovan (ex-Stiff Gins), Ursula Yovich and host Michael Tuahine.

Once again the after-party, held this year at the Opera Bar, was the place to be after the Deadlys. Opening with the sophisticated sounds of jazz vocalist Liz Cavanagh and her band, the post-event bash was a chance for autograph hunters to fill pages, and for winners to show off their “˜Deadly’ rings (trophies are so passé), designed by Jules Collins.

For fans of vocal group Tiddas there was a rare treat, with Lou Bennett and Amy Saunders performing in their new line-up, the Bloody Marys. Stepping away from their traditional sound, the trio brought the after-party to a climax with their version of Marvin Gaye’s classic hit, “What’s Going On”. Too Deadly!

Then it was time to get down to more urban sounds as South West Syndicate, MC Wire and host Brothablack commandeered a late-night helping of R&B and hip-hop treats. And the dance floor was creaking! DJs Nick Toth and Goldfinger finished off the proceedings.

Most Promising New Talent

Single Release Of The Year
Stop Calling Me ” Shakaya

Excellence In Football
Andrew Mcleod

Band Of The Year

Country Artist Of The Year
Jimmy Little

Excellence In Entertainment
Mary G

Aboriginal Broadcaster Of The Year
Lloyd Wyles/4k1g Fm

Most Promising New Talent In Sport
Jade North

Female Sportsperson Of The Year
Bo De La Cruz

Outstanding Achievement In Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health
Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Council Inc (Kamsci)

Outstanding Achievement In Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Education
The Murri School

Music Video Of The Year
“Sublime” ” Shakaya

Excellence In Film Or Theatrical Score
Skin ” David Page And Steve Francis

Male Actor Of The Year
David Gulpilil

Female Actor Of The Year
Everlyn Sampi

Male Sportsperson Of The Year
David Peachey

Male Artist Of The Year
Archie Roach

Female Artist Of The Year
Toni Janke

Album Release Of The Year
Sensual Being ” Archie Roach

Outstanding Contribution To Aboriginal Music
Candy Williams

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.