Our people doing great things

Other Community topics: Events, Indigenous affairs, Organisations, People,

The 2001 Deadlys

The winners of the 7th Deadly Sounds Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music Awards (aka “˜the Deadlys’) were announced tonight at cityLIVE, Fox Studios.

Band of the Year went to cult Territory rockers Letterstick Band, who are part of the An Barra clan located on the coast of northeast Arnhem Land near Maningrida.

A big man with an even bigger voice, Koorie songman Kutcha Edwards won Male Artist of the Year, while Female Artist of the Year went to country/blues musician Kerrianne Cox.

After winning Most Promising New Talent in 2000, Stiff Gins again struck gold, this year taking out Single Release of the Year for “Morning Star”. Meanwhile Album Release of the Year went to Warren Williams for Where My Heart Is.

Soul crooner J-Boy (ex Native Ryme Syndicate) won Most Promising New Talent for his debut CD Waited. Deadly Sounds Aboriginal Broadcaster of the Year was awarded to 2CUZ FM in Bourke. Yothu Yindi and Mark Ovenden won Excellence In Film Or Theatrical Score for Yolngu Boy.

The inaugural award for Country Artist of the Year went to the always-inspiring Troy Cassar-Daley.

Two living legends were honoured for their Outstanding Contribution To Aboriginal Music ” Gus Williams AO; and Vic Simms, who has been made a Fellow of the Performing Arts by the Australia Council for the Arts.

Hosted by Michael Tuahine ” himself a past Deadlys winner ” the lavish awards night featured a swag of VIP presenters including Patrick Johnson and Deni Hines.

Of course the Deadlys is more than an awards ceremony ” it’s also a concert, and this year Jimmy Little, Vic Simms, Deborah Cheetham, NoKTuRNL, Tex Perkins and Native Ryme Syndicate, Warren Williams, Col Hardy and others took to the stage for a night of grassroots Indigenous musicianship with a country twist.

Album of The Year
Warren Williams -Where My Heart Is

Band of the Year
Letterstick Band

Contribution to Aboriginal Music
Gus Williams

Contribution to Aboriginal music
Vic Simms

Single of the Year
Stiff Gins “Morning Star”

Female of the Year
Kerrianne Cox

Male Artist of the Year
Kutcha Edwards

Most Promising New Talent

Country Artist of the Year
Troy Cassar- Daley

Excellence in Film / Theatrical Soundatrack
Mark Ovenden and Yothu Yindi

Community Broadcaster of the Year
2cuz Fm

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.