Our people doing great things

Other Community topics: Events, Indigenous affairs, Organisations, People,

The 2000 Deadlys

The winners of the 6th Deadly Sounds Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music Awards (aka “˜the Deadlys’) were announced tonight at a lavish ceremony held at City Live, Fox Studios.

Fresh from her performances at the Sydney 2000 Olympic and Paralympic Games, Torres Strait Islander singer Christine Anu won Single Release Of The Year for her uplifting anthem, “Sunshine On A Rainy Day”.

After delivering a powerhouse set to an ecstatic Deadly audience, and fresh from their Olympic and Paralympic gigs, Yothu Yindi won Album Release Of The Year for quite possibly their best album yet, Garma.

Country legend Troy Cassar-Daley was awarded Male Artist Of The Year, with Female Artist Of The Year going to the always inspiring Ruby Hunter.

Much loved and sorely missed, Tiddas were presented with a special award for Outstanding Contribution To Aboriginal Music.

The Deadly Sounds Aboriginal Broadcaster Of The Year went to Grant Hansen and Community Radio 3CR 855 AM/3 K’N’D/Songlines for their hard work down in Melbourne, promoting Indigenous music and culture.

Band Of The Year went to the hard-rockin’ lads from the Alice, NoKTuRNL, whose jaw-shattering performance on the night left everyone screaming for more.

Excellence In Film Or Theatrical Score went to Wesley Enoch and John Rodgers for the critically acclaimed musical The Sunshine Club, which played to packed houses in Brisbane and Sydney earlier this year.

The award for Most Promising New Talent went to all-girl group Stiff Gins. Remember that name, because you’ll be hearing a lot more from them in years to come.

Single Release of the Year
Christine Anu – Sunshine on a Rainy Day

Album Release of the Year
Yothu Yindi – Garma

Male Artist of the Year
Troy Cassar-Daley

Female Artist of the Year
Ruby Hunter.

Outstanding Contribution to Aboriginal Music

Deadly Sounds Aboriginal Broadcaster of the Year
Grant Hansen Community Radio 3CR 855 AM/3 K’N’D/Songlines

Band of the Year

Excellence in Film or Theatrical Score
Wesley Enoch & John Rodgers – The Sunshine Club

Most Promising New Talent
Stiff Gins

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.